About: Ashfield Community Hospital

(as a relative),

What I liked


What could be improved

More Staff, Honest People

Anything else?

My Mother was admitted to Shelly Ward under the Mental Health Act. She was to be accessed and then given treatment. Less than 2 months later she as died. In the time spent on Shelly Ward she suffered a smashed nose and a broken hip. All her belongings that were left on the ward for safe keeping are gone. I always were given excusses about her care, nerver enough staff on the ward and when i complained to the powers that be , they very often did'nt even return my calls. Since this as happen I talked to another family , and they said their mother had been on the same ward and had broken her ribs. When it comes to reporting this , there is not much help and unless somthing is done about this ward more people will die.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your comments regarding your Mother’s care at Ashfield Community Hospital.

We apologise for the delay in responding to this posting. We did not receive it when posted on the NHS Choices website. This means we were unaware it was on the site until passed onto us recently. I hope you will accept our apology as we believe it is important for us to respond quickly. Patient Opinion have transferred it over to their website so that we can respond to you.

Whilst an inpatient on Shelley Ward your mother did have a fall which regrettably resulted in bruising around her face and a fractured femur. She was transferred to King’s Mill Hospital for treatment of her fracture. At the request of the family she was transferred to Bassetlaw Hospital to receive further assessment of her dementia. During that time her physical health deteriorated and she was transferred from the mental health ward to a medical ward at Bassetlaw Hospital where she sadly died. There have been a number of improvements and changes to Shelley Ward since you first raised these issues with the service and we are genuinely sorry that your experience around dementia care assessment was not a positive one.

We welcome any and all feedback towards improving our services and we want to listen to your views. If you have a complaint about any of the services provided by Nottinghamshire Healthcare, the first step is to talk to local staff. If this does not resolve the matter, then speak to the manager of the service. The Patient Advice and Liaison Service is also available for help and advice and may be able to resolve your concerns. The PALS hotline is 0800 015 3367.

If you are unable to do any of the above or would like to make a formal complaint under the NHS Complaints Procedure, please either:

• email complaints@nottshc.nhs.uk,

• contact the departments below in writing or by telephone.

However you lodge your complaint, it will be acknowledged as soon as possible, and within 3 working days at the latest.

For complaints about Older Peoples Services contact:

Elaine Read

Manager - Service Liaison Department

Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Duncan Macmillan House

Porchester Road



Tel: 0115 993 4542