"I have been visiting this hospital ..."

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

(as a relative),

What I liked

I have been visiting this hospital vor the past decade with a family member and up until now have always been treated with kindness and consideration by Drs, and Nurses and the various ward staff have always been very caring and helpful. However, having recently spend time on Ward 46 found nursing staff unhelpful and gave the impressionm of not caring. A couple of th staff were very nice however they were outnumbered, and quite frankly if the next admission is to Ward 46 I will do everything possible to avoid it.

There is a seated area in the corredor outside for medical physics and the flooring/under the seats in that area was full of dust and not very clean.

What could be improved

Senior nursing staff on this ward need to treat patients with understanding and respect not like an inconvenice/nuisance.

Anything else?

Perhaps it might be a good idea to have customer satidfactory forms on wards so that patients/visitors could complete these. if they so wish, during/at the end of their stay.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We do very much regret that your experience of some of our staff was less than optimal, and you did not feel the same kindness and consideration you had received previously. We take this very seriously and would like to reassure you that your comments have been addressed with the nursing staff on Ward 46. They have been spoken to by both the Directorate Manager and Matron of Surgical Services who have discussed very clearly what our expectations and standards are.

We have also noted your comments about the failure to maintain our expected standards in the seated area on the corridor, this has been addressed with the Cleaning Supervisor and regular checks are in place. A spot check did show the area was clean but it will be closely monitored.

There are “Comments and Suggestion” feedback forms /boxes placed at all main entrances to the Trust and we very much encourage future patients and visitors to use these, as all methods of feedback are welcomed. There are also satisfaction surveys and we are soon to be introducing the use of electronic technology for promptness and confidentiality.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact the Patient Relations department on 0191 2231382.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful