"Disgusted by the staff and the lack of care"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

My aunt was admitted to the mri through a&e and it took them a whole week just to get her to the right department.

She was told she had cancer with no explanation, no conversation, nothing by a Consultant, who when questioned about this called it 'a blip'. Wow. Talk about conceited. She was left in severe pain for two weeks drugged up on morphine with no investigation. Sadly she picked up a hospital superbug whilst there and was admitted to the ICU. she deteriorated here and passed away a few weeks later. Some of the ICU staff were lovely. However overall i was appalled by the rudeness, lack of concern, flippancy and overall uncaring attitude of many of the staff members.

When my aunt was dying one of the nurses was so rough around her almost treating her like she wasn't a person. Another nurse was very rude to me whilst all my family members stood around my dying aunts bed crying they were complaining that we had put something on a sterile trolley.

I mean, seriously, my aunt was dying right there we had been told she had about an hour to live, we were all crying and this nurse was complaining about a sterile trolley. I really don't think when a beloved member of your family is dying unexpectedly and suddenly that anyone would be thinking oh i should or shouldn't put my bag here or there, and how were we to know the trolley was sterile? Disgusting and absolutely disrespectful and nasty. I feel sick when I think about it. I would not recommend this hospital. I am terrified of the thought of anyone being here. I don't care if you are understaffed and overworked they are human beings you're treating not pieces of meat. Wake up you NHS robots.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient Experience Team, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We were very sorry to read about the experience you, your aunt and your family received whilst in our care and are committed to making sure that this does not happen again. Whilst we will ensure that the issues you have raised are fed back to all the staff working in the Intensive Care Unit we would welcome the opportunity to discuss these with you further so that we can identify specific staff members and meet with them individually. Please could you contact John Logan, Head of Nursing on 0161 276 1234 and ask for bleep 5948 or e-mail john.logan@cmft.nhs.uk. Alternatively please contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or e-mail pals@cmft.nhs.uk