"Delivery suite at Royal Berks Hospital"

About: Royal Berkshire Hospital / Maternity care

(as the patient),

I had both my children on the delivery suite at RBH, June 2014 and August 2016. Both times the midwives looking after me have been amazing, in particular the second time around. I can't fault the care I received and were I to have another baby I would want to have them at RBH. For my second child I was induced and the information provided and time taken to ensure I understood the process were excellent. My second pregnancy needed regular monitoring and j always felt well cared for by the midwives I saw.

I would say however that unfortunately I did not experience the same level of care or attitude from the sonography department who were rude and dismissive of me even at times when I had been directed there due to concerns regarding babies movement and growth. I was told at one appointment there was nothing wrong with my child he just has short legs! Which he doesn't. I had appointments rearranged without being communicated with and at times waited for hours on end. However this was nothing to do with the midwives or consultants I saw throughout my pregnancy.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your post - we were very sorry to read that you were not happy with the care you received from the Sonography Department.

The matron has spoken to the manager of the department and she apologises that you felt that staff were dismissive of you and she feels certain that this would have been unintentional. With regards to the baby’s leg measurements she informs me that sometimes the measurements of the babies' legs come out a bit smaller than average on the chart and the sonographer may comment on this but normally they reassure the parent(s) that it is nothing abnormal - we are sorry if that did not happen.

Additionally, she apologies for the long waiting times. Unfortunately, this is due to the number of patients that require scans which often exceeds the appointment capacity. The Trust is currently recruiting additional sonographers which should help to relieve this problem in the future.

Without further detail we are unable to be more precise with our reply but if you would like to meet with the Sonography Department Manager to discuss your concerns we would be very happy to arrange this for you. Please contact the Patient Relations Team on 0118 322 8338 and ask to speak to the Sonography Department Manager or the Matron for Hospital Maternity Services.

We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the midwifery care and many congratulations on the birth of your son.