"Poor Aftercare"

About: Nuffield Health, Bristol Hospital (Chesterfield)

The initial surgery and treatment for an ACL tear was impeccable and I cannot thank the surgeon and hospital staff enough, however the physiotherapy that followed has been of the worst possible standard and as a result I would not recommend the Chesterfield to any of my friends or family. The recovery from this type of injury and surgery is difficult and the promise of the free use of their gym facilities was the main reason I chose them over other hospitals. Unfortunately the physio's showed little interest in my recovery and never activated the free gym pass even after promising to do so on a number of occasions. Every time we met the physio would drop subtle hints about using a gym "closer to home" I'm guessing the physio was under a remit to keep out the free bees! This was annoying but more so was the fact that the physio never remembered anything from our previous appointments, cancelled our appointments and even claimed I missed an appointment when in fact they got the day wrong! Overall it was a real shame for me and I can't imagine that my surgeon would be very pleased either. I have cancelled all physio payments through my health insurance and booked into another practice in Clifton to complete my rehab.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Nuffield Health, Bristol Hospital (Chesterfield)

Dear Patient,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review – we do appreciate hearing your feedback so that we can take action and continue to improve our services to patients. Firstly, we are very pleased to hear that you had a positive experience in terms of your procedure here at the Hospital and with your surgeon. The team work very hard to deliver outstanding levels of care and will be pleased to hear that you had a good experience. We wish you a speedy recovery.

Regarding your follow up physiotherapy, we are very sorry to hear of your experience and can only apologise for the inconvenience caused. We will be feeding back and working with the team so that we can ensure that this does not happen again. ACL Reconstruction is a procedure that is eligible for our ‘Recovery Plus’ programme which gives our insured and self-paying patients 3 months of free gym membership at a Nuffield Health gym, health checks and dedicated support from your own recovery coach, for which you are referred in, once the physiotherapist feels your surgery has arrived at the appropriate level of recovery for gym based rehabilitation. It is something that as an organisation we would like as many people to experience as possible, as we strongly believe that it will support your recovery, and get you back to doing the things you love quicker. We would very much like to offer you this opportunity if it is something that you would still like to try. If so please kindly give me a call on 0117 906 4866 and we can discuss further.

Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best with your recovery.

Best regards,

Joanna Down, Sales & Services Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful