"Care of the elderly in QE Hospital"

My Mother is still in this hospital at the moment and I really need to get her out of there.

I feel that the majority of staff have no compassion or sympathy with my Mum.

She has to use a hoist (a new experience for her) and it frightens her.

When I have been there, they have no comforting words to calm her, they just carry on and ignore her comments.

She has been confused since coming into hospital but not all of the time.

They seem to think because she is confused at times, they can talk over her and not explain things such as what her medication is for etc.

When I arrived yesterday, her Nurse Call Button wasn't in her reach and she needed the toilet.

I informed the Nurse and they said 'oh we will need the hoist' as though it was too much trouble.

When the nurse came into the room the nurse then asked me if Mum would prefer the Commode or Bedpan.

Mum was there, why did they not ask her? She has 2 fractures in her leg and when they move her, they are far from gentle. They then wonder why she gets angry.

They would too if they had to suffer this treatment.

There are many other things, too many to mention here. Mum has been on 2 wards and the bad treatment is similar on both wards.

The second ward being the worst. I raised a complaint with Manager of the first Ward and apparently they will learn from it.

Well I can't see any evidence of that on this Ward.

I was just given lip service to keep me quiet!!

Don't be a nurse unless you actually care for your patients that includes elderly patients.

You need to learn the definition of the words ' respect & dignity'.

How would you like your family to be treated like this?? There were 3 Nurses who were fabulous but unfortunately the poor behaviour of the majority of staff pull your reputation down.

I am completely disgusted and shocked at the QE Hospital.

I am also very upset that my Mum has had to experience this treatment at 87 years old.

The population is living longer, so I think the NHS will have to get used to dealing with elderly people, giving them the respect and compassion they deserve!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your mother’s care and treatment at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very disappointed to hear about the concerns you have regarding her care so far as this is not the experience we strive to provide for our patients. As you have already spoken to staff on the ward regarding this, please ask to speak to the Matron as soon as possible. The Matron will be keen to listen to your concerns and take action to put things right as soon as possible. Ward staff can contact the Matron for you, or alternatively please make contact via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS). PALS are here to help and can be contacted by phone 0121 371 4400, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form or in person by dropping in between 9am – 5pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located near the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.