"Very disappointed and upset with staff being rude"

About: Newham General Hospital

I was at the stroke unit at Newham not by choice but I must say that the night staff are very rude and you can clearly hear them backbiting about patients and family that are visiting the patience. I had asked the nurse to call for a doctor and was shouted at by them stating 'are you saying I don't know how to do my job'. There was no reason to shout or become aggressive. The nurses at night also laugh and speak loudly about patience, this is very unprofessional and highly disrespectful. I could go on about my complaints about the stroke unit but it seems that nothing is actually being done about the professionalism and respect given to patience at Newham general hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Newham General Hospital

We are very sorry to read of your experience during your time on the stroke unit, and of the concerns you have raised here. We are sorry that the staff were rude and aggressive – this is not acceptable and we apologise for this.

We would like to speak with you about the concerns you have raised here so that we are able to understand and investigate what has happened. To do this we ask if you could contact us with your personal information and more detail about your visit. Please contact the PALS Team on 020 3594 2040 or by email: pals@bartshealth.nhs.uk

Kind regards

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful