"I thought i'd have been given more help and information"

About: Raigmore Hospital / General Surgery

(as the patient),

In June I had an appointment at the hospital to have a scan and they found that I had a large cyst, so I was later taken into hospital for them to see if they could remove it with keyhole surgery. However, they were unable to because of previous surgery that I have had. So I was sent home to wait for an appointment to try again to remove the cyst. I had an appointment with my doctor who was lovely and helpful.

Because of another condition I have and my previous operation they brought in another doctor form a different hospital. Ninewells hospital had sent me an email that I was to pass on to my doctor at Raigmore Hospital explaining what equipment they couldn’t use with me in my operation which I did. I thought that the new doctor came across as very rude and quite arrogant and they told me that I am not allergic to morphine, but I know that I am so I asked why they think this when it says that I am in all my notes and I had a previous very bad experience with it? I decided to tell them that I would not have morphine despite the fact they thought I wasn’t allergic to it, but I don’t understand why they thought this.

I asked them before the surgery if they had seen the email and they said what email, and my nice doctor explained to them that it was in my notes, to which they replied that they’d read them when they were ready. They swore as they said this. I thought this was so rude.

I had the surgery and although it was major surgery they didn’t advise me how to care for my wound, I was given no follow up information and there were no district nurses organised to check on my wound, I thought I would have been given more help and information given that I had had a hysterectomy and such a large cyst removed.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from katherine sutton, Deputy Director of Operations, NHS Highland

Dear Impact 817,

I am very sorry to hear that you have had such a poor experience of services in Raigmore Hospital, we are always keen to learn when we do not deliver services to our expected standards.

If you are happy to contact me on 01463 705087 and share your name, date of birth and the type of service you were accessing with me I would be keen to look into the specifics and raise your concerns with the team involved.

We value your feedback and will aim to learn and improve services as a result of all feedback from service users.

Thank you for taking the time to post on patient opinion.

Kind regards,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by Impact817 (the patient)

I have tried calling the number given without success for the last two days.

Also, as a result of my experience, I am willing to educate staff about Essential Tremor and how to treat people with the condition.

Response from Pat Tyrrell, Deputy Director of Nursing and Midwifery, NHS Highland, Nursing and Midwifery, NHS Highland

Dear Impact817,

I am sorry that you have not been able to get through on the number provided. Please can you call me on my mobile number, I will then get your details and then make sure that the Raigmore Hospital managers contact you at suitable time next week? My number is 07789650992.

Many thanks.


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Pat Tyrrell, Deputy Director of Nursing and Midwifery, NHS Highland, Nursing and Midwifery, NHS Highland

Dear Impact 817,

Many thanks for contacting me to discuss the concerns that you had raised. As we agreed on the telephone we will now look into these in more detail and get back to you as soon as we can. In the meantime please do not hesitate to contact us if we can of any assistance. I would like to thank you again for providing us with this feedback that will enable us to look at where we need to make improvements.

All the best


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful