"Not good with people with additional needs"

About: Harrogate District Hospital / Accident and emergency

Brought my son here on advice of GP. He has high functioning autism and was getting distressed as he couldn't understand what the doctor was saying. I told the doctor and they sarcastically said that they apologised profusely but it was said in a hostile manner.I'm guessing they were having a bad day. They said the GP shouldn't have sent us and was quite critical about it which I thought was a bit unprofessional. I thought taking it out on my son was unprofessional too as it's not the patient's fault if they can't sort out a correct treatment pathway between a group of highly paid health professionals. In summary the doctor was hostile and rude and my son felt with autism the service was impossible to access if you wanted to be treated with respect and dignity.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Communications and Marketing Manager, Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

Good morning - thank you very much for your comments. Clearly, this is something we would like to investigate further and feed back to you about.

In the first instance, please could you contact our Patient Experience Team and we can take it forward from there.

http://www.hdft.nhs.uk/patients-visitors/facilities-for-patients-and-visitors/patient-experience-service/

Many thanks.