"Awful experience"

About: Burnley General Hospital

What an awful experience. I had a severe infection on my right hand and my right leg. I called 111 from home who told me I needed to be checked within 2 hours and suggested I get to the burnley urgent care center. As I arrived the waiting time was written 1 hour. However after one hour the triage nurse called me in. I waited another 2 and a half hours before a doctor actually looked at me! Whilst i was waiting, I was frustrated so I went and spoke to one of the doctors inside, they spoke to me in a careless manner telling me to go wait my turn and that they were too busy when they were sat down drinking their coffees. There was only 5-6 people waiting so it was not as if it was busy. A really terrible experience and I really do hope something gets done about it!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Burnley General Hospital

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to Urgent Care Centre at Burnley General Hospital and thank you for taking the time to do so.

I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your visit to the department.

We always strive to deliver safe, personal and effective care and I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the team.

If you would like us to look into the matter further for you, please could you contact me to provide more details.

You can contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or alternatively you can email me at melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk or at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk

If you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Kind regards

Melissa Almond

Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful