"Communication and service is awful"

About: Liverpool Womens Hospital

I am very sorry to have to give a bad review as it is not something I have ever done before but feel that I need to provide feedback to the centre. There are a few different areas that I found extremely disappointing. I was a private patient therefore spending a total of circa £6000 for 1 round, when I needed to make contact I was always on hold for approx. 20 minutes and when somebody did answer they appeared to just give me a quick response and presume that I would know how it all works, the first time this happened it resulted in me being delayed by a cycle, when I spoke to a 'nurse' to advise I would like to start treatment on my next cycle they said that's no problem just call us on day 1 of your period, I did just that on a Friday to then be told to come in for a scan on Monday, when I asked what do I do about the medication they said 'have you not had a drugs appointment?' Of course I hadn't as I wasn't advised to when I called up last time so I just thought I would be given the drugs at the scan. I complained to the head nurse and they explained that measure would be taken to avoid this in future but when I nearly chose to go for treatment there again I was told the same thing when I phoned up! A nurse again said just phone up on day 1 of my period but I hadn't yet had a drugs appointment that time either! Another issue is that for procedures they are Monday to Friday 9-5 and I believe this is why I didn't have great success with the quality of my eggs, I started my period on a Friday and they told me to come in for a scan on the Monday meaning I wasn't starting the drugs protocol until 3 days following my period. The clinic I have since used in Prague advised me that it is crucial that I start the drugs the morning after my period to get the best outcome (with this cycle they got 5 Grade 1 blastocyst of which resulted in 2 pregnancies - sadly the first was ectopic but the results were amazing considering the results from the Hewitt.) I also found it so hard to find out any information from the Hewitt Centre regarding the embryos between Egg Retrieval and Embryo transfer, they call you on day 3 and I was told all 5 are doing well then the next I heard I was on the bed waiting for egg transfer when the embryologist said the other 4 don't look great now but we will transfer your grade 2 (no discussion around putting 2 in as they try to avoid this) I asked if they could let me know how the others have done tomorrow and they said they don't phone they send a letter! I asked if I could phone them and they said no but they will send a letter that should arrive within 14 days!! I couldn't believe that they would not let me find out whether they were suitable for freezing when I have spent £6000 for this 'service' It was not a happy outcome as I got my period 6 days after the transfer (I was not warned of this either I thought I would just find out on my test day) I have been extremely disappointed in all aspects of the service at the Hewitt Centre

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Lucy

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the service at the Hewitt Fertility Centre.

I am sorry that your experience of our service has not met your expectations and I apologise for any distress caused when undergoing your treatment and in compiling your feedback. I appreciate that re-living a poor experience can be very upsetting.

I just wanted to reassure you today that the concerns you have raised will be investigated as our aim is always to provide a quality service for all of our patients.

In order that I can fully investigate your concerns and provide you with timely and personal feedback please could you contact me or my Ward Manager directly?

My contact details are:

E-mail: christine.malone@lwh.nhs.uk

Direct phone line: 0151 702 4380

I will be on annual leave from 23rd September until 10th October 2016. My Ward Manager Sister Diane Ford can be contacted in my absence:

E-mail diane.ford@lwh.nhs.uk

Phone number: 0151 708 9988 ext 1418 (if you get an initial automated message dial 0 and the operator will put you through to Diane)

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Kind regards

Christine Malone

Matron

Hewitt Fertility Centre