"I am disappointed that I was assured id be sedated then wasn't."

About: Queen Margaret Hospital / Endoscopy

(as the patient),

Attended Queen Margaret Hospital to under go an endoscopy. I was asked if I wished to be sedated which I stated I wanted, however my wishes were not met and I was not sedated. I had to arrange for special time off my work as I was advised I would be unable to work following sedation. I was extremely worried about the procedure and made my feelings clear that I wished sedation. I am disappointed that I was assured id be sedated then wasn't.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Gillian Ogden, Clinical Nurse Manager, Planned Care, NHS Fife

picture of Gillian Ogden

Dear stroll7634

I am really sorry and concerned to read your post. Your experience sounds awful and I am keen to investigate why, when you requested sedation, this did not happen.

I would be grateful if you could give me a call to discuss this further and to enable me to look in to this. Please contact me on 01592 643355 ext 20148 or send your contact details by email gillian.ogden@nhs.net and I will call you.

I hope that you are feeling okay following your procedure. I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind regards

Gill Ogden

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Gillian Ogden, Clinical Nurse Manager, Planned Care, NHS Fife We are preparing to make a change

picture of Gillian Ogden

Dear stroll7634

Thank you so much for getting in contact with me. It was lovely to speak with you and I found our conversation very useful.

I was glad that we could establish that you did have some sedation for your procedure, however as we discussed there are a few learning points for us.

It is clear that the information that we gave you before your procedure was not entirely accurate and therefore you expected to be drowsy during and after your procedure. The sedation that we give is conscious sedation and this affects people differently. Some people are really sleepy, others are a bit drowsy and as in your case, some patients don't feel the effect of the sedation much at all. We will now review the information that we give pre and post procedure regarding sedation, to ensure that our patients know what to expect.

I am glad that you have recovered well and thank you for your kind comments about the care you received from our nursing staff.

I am really grateful that you took the time to post your comments on Patient Opinion as your feedback has prompted us to review the information that we give.

Kind regards

Gill

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful