"Judgemental consultant and a lack of empathy from nurses"

About: Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow / Maternity care

(as the patient),

my waters broke. I went to queen elizabeth hospital to have my baby. however labour did not progress and two days later a consultant and his team where doing their rounds and spoke with me. Initially the consultant wanted to send me home, which I was against, they then began discussing contraceptives with me and in their words he said " you don't want anymore mistakes". this consultant spoke to every women in the ward in manner which I did not see as professional but judgemental. I overheard this consultant discussing to other women the amount of children she had and her age and informing her they would be giving her a contraceptive once her unborn child was born. I was annoyed with their comments to myself and the other women that I spoke with a nurse on the ward to which her reply was " we see a lot of teenage pregnancies" the nurse would not give me the consultants name as I asked for it.

other concerns whilst I was in the maternity hospital was the lack of care and empathy from the majority of the nurses on the ward, due to myself having a c-section I was unaware of the jags that had to administer myself, when informing a nurse that I struggled to do this, she replied " are you kidding me on with all they tattoos you have" and said to "get a grip".

I also found that there wasn't nurses around when I needed them, and at times relied on other women in the ward to support me to get in and out of bed as I had a c-section.

one nurse in particular had no people skills at all, and felt she wasn't listening to me when I was trying to discuss my post natal plan as I have MS, as I was in a lot of pain after my c-section. I asked the nurse if she was listening to me as I felt I was being ignored.

nurses would come in the ward through night talking loudly whilst moving beds, which woke myself and my son, I was shattered whilst I was in hospital and desperate to get home for rest.

I also observed nurses being critical to a young mother on the ward rather than being constructive and having nurturing nature.

I feel that the lack of support at this hospital was one of contributing factors of myself having post natal depression, as I feel I didn't have a positive start when my son was born.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear smij

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Patient Opinion. Firstly, congratulations on the birth of your son. Secondly, I am sorry for what you experienced at what should be an extremely happy time for every mother. We do not want any of our patients to feel the way that you felt during your time in our care.

There are a number of issues that you have raised in your post and I would like the service to look into this further for you. In order for me to do that, would you please email me at Lisa.Ramsay@ggc.scot.nhs.uk with some of your personal details. In the meantime, I will send your feedback to the service so that they can provide you with some answers to your post.

Best wishes
Lisa

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear smij

As a Senior Charge Midwife working in the maternity unit at The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, may I firstly congratulate you on the birth of your baby son,and also thank you for taking the time to feedback your valuable experience of our service. I apologise that you feel your care at the Queen Elizabeth Maternity Hospital fell well below our usual exacting standards.

Although I do not have all the details. I will endeavour to address the issues highlighted where I can. I have had a discussion with Dr Richmond our lead medical officer for the unit about your comments, as a team we would greatly value more detail about your case. If you are agreeable,my contact details are Ellen McBrearty, Senior Charge Midwife, Ward 50 Maternity Building, 1345 Govan Road,Glasgow,G13 4JJ. This detail would enable us to provide you with a more meaningful response to what you have detailed here on Patient Opinion.

Having a new baby, I know does not leave much spare time if any, to be able to sit down and write to us, with this in mind I am extending an invitation to you to call me on 0141-232-4369 if this is easier for you. In the meantime please accept my apologies on behalf of the service, and be assured that we will use this feedback to highlight the short falls and improve our care in the future

Kind Regards
Ellen McBrearty
Senior Charge Midwife

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear smij

Thank you very much for getting in contact with me. I welcomed the opportunity to be able to speak to you about what you have spoken about here on Patient Opinion. I appreciate that this is a very busy time for you with your new baby son.

I will be in contact with you soon.

Best wishes
Ellen McBrearty
Senior Charge Midwife

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful