"ENT: Excellent Dr's but rude reception staff."

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary / Ear, Nose and Throat

Arrived to be greeted by a glum faced member of staff who looked like they didn't want to be there. Was asked to fill out a form in an abrupt and rude tone. No greeting or thank you when i handed the form back. Waited in the reception area for an hour and saw the same treatment given to other patients. An appalling lack of basic etiquette and customer care. I understand sometimes it can be chaotic but a simple 'I'll be with you in a minute' or 'thank you' wouldn't go a miss. Having read some of the the previous comments it seems this still needs addressing. Poor reception staff who refuse to change their attitude shouldn't be there. Having said that once i got to see the doctors it was a totally different experience. I was listened to and felt involved in my care; thank you.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Patient Experience Team, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices website about your experience in the Ear, Nose and Throat Department at the Manchester Royal Infirmary. As reception staff are often the first point of contact, it would always be our expectation that patients are greeted in a polite and courteous manner at all times and we must apologise that this has not been your experience. Your comments will be passed on to the department so that they are aware of the experience you have had.

It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.