"A&E staff too busy to care"

About: St Richard's Hospital / Accident and emergency

My father as admitted to A&E on a Friday Evening. The Paramedics were brilliant. In Rescuss there was 1 x nurse who was amazing. The nurse was kind, professional and giving. The Doctor who spoke to us was very understanding and patient. They had been very busy and were very busy when we arrived. When he was transfered into the A&E Assessment unit this lovely nurse had to chase staff around almost begging them to take on my fathers case but they all said no until the nurse cornered them in a doorway. The nurse wrote his name up on the board for Neuro obs and wound care. He was admitted with a head injury and is on warfarin. He was pushed into a cubical and left in our care until approx 2.30am. No one spoke to him or even made eye contact. He needed the toilet but there was no way of alerting staff so we stood uttering excuse me by the desk where doctors and bed managers had their heads in computer screens until someone eventually looked up. A kind Doctor got him a bed pan and asked a nurse to help get him off but there were only 2 or 3 nurses and they were busy with a screaming teanager who appeared psychotic. I had to wash my father and empty his catheter myself. I dont mind but wondered what happens to all the poor people who are not lucky enough to have family to wait with them. After a few hours a Doctor informed us he was moving to the emergency floor as his bloods were deranged. I asked if anyone was going to see to his head wound. At that point a nurse came and glued his head and done some obs. My father had concussion. Luckily the CT scan was NAD and luckily he didnt deteriorate in the time we were waiting. Luckily we were there and could have alerted someone for him if his condition changed. Im not blaming anyone I am mearly feeding back my observation and experience of a snap shot in A&E on a Friday night. Everyone was kind and caring when they had time. Did we feel safe? No! Were we safe? No idea!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Richard's Hospital

We are so sorry that you had such an unsatisfactory experience in our Assessment Unit after a good impression of the Resus area in A&E.

In the circumstances you have described, we can appreciate your concern.

This site is anonymous and therefore we are unable to investigate further however we will forward your comments to both the matron and the clinical lead in A&E for their information.

We would very much like to follow this up in more detail and therefore if you could contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) department in the first instance so that we can take some more details from you, we would be very grateful.

PALS can be contacted by telephone on 01243 831822 or e-mail palschichester@wsht.nhs.uk Once again we apologise for your poor experience and hope you will pass our apologies on to your father and the family.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful