"Thank you"

About: Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford) / Urology

Just had to have a few days on Dart Ward. Care and understanding from the whole medical team was great. The nurses there truly are angles. I witnessed quite a few getting abuse from one patient but they just calmed him down and carried on. Myself and fellow patients were far more upset by the situation. My only issues with the ward were 1, the food.. Terrible. I was nil by mouth for the first few days of my stay and thank God I was. Most was totally inedible. As I was ward bound I would have struggled to have got a decent meal from the shop or restaurant and would have gone hungry for days. If you need to build yourself up while in the RD&E, get family to sneak you in some food! Second concern is the toilets, only 3 toilets between 36(?) beds? Really?? On a ward where nearly everyone has bladder or kidney problems.. Add to that the inability to lock them so when you could get in one you had other patients walking in on you. I understand the need for nurses to have quick access but there must be better ways to give the patient their space and dignity at a time when, after all the procedures many have just been through, dignity had already but gone..

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient Experience Officer, Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. Feedback from our patients is invaluable in helping to us to improve our services. We are sorry to hear of your concerns and as we cannot provide a more personal reply here, we would be happy to do so if you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) team on 01392 402093.