"Day case surgery ward D5"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital / General surgery

The surgeon and anaesthetist were professional and I was confident and pleased to be treated by them. The nurses worked hard to treat us with dignity and respect they were outstanding at their jobs and carried out their duties to a high standard managing to make me feel comfortable and relaxed at a very difficult time. Unfortunately this meant that after the surgery it was the nurses who had to pick up the pieces, after a cold, dismissive and vague overview from whom I believe was the registrar; they literally turned their back on me and walked out while I was trying to speak to them, leaving me at a complete loss, and whose judgmental, arrogant demeanour, and complete lack of interest in, or understanding of, what they were telling me actually meant in the context of my extreme poor health, left me in tears. I was left feeling confused, vulnerable and humiliated, as I'm used to being treated like the competent adult I am and am not prone to emotional outbursts - especially in public.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to hear that your surgery and nursing care went well.

However, I am sorry that your experience was spoiled by the attitude of the registrar following your surgery.

Your comments have been passed to the Surgery Business group to share with the registrars who work on Ward D5 however, if you would like me to look into your specific experience, please do not hesitate to contact me on 0161 419 4353.

Kind regards

Patient and Customer Services Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful