"Unacceptable wait"

About: East Surrey Hospital / Gynaecology

At the beginning of May I was admitted to Bromley hospital via a&e with extreme abdominal pain. I have endometriosis & have had several laps before (& have had appendix out). Whilst there i was told they couldn't get my hospital notes from east surrey, I was told even though I was in severe pain, (taking morphine, tramadol, paracetamol, nortrypaline & temporarily cathetised due to urine retention) I would be discharged from hospital & an urgent referral would be made to the gynae team at East Surrey whose care I was under previously. I asked if I could be transferred to my notes/staff who knew my case instead & was told that that was not 'cost effective', not sure the NICE guidelines of the patients right to apropriate treatment meeting their needs is being met here? I called the secretary of my previous consultant to check that they had received the paperwork which they had, & I was reassured it would be brought to the consultants attention. A week later, I called back to be told that it had been recategorised from urgent to routine, even though the consultant had not seen the level of pain I was in. What's more, due to the urine retention, I had to come off of the painkillers, so was in unbearable pain. During this time my gp contacted the hospital to say that they believed I needed to be seen urgently and to reconsider the categorisation of my appointment. I was also told I was on the cancellation list. For the whole of June/July I had to call each week (sometimes twice) to see if anything was available as I was in agony & couldn't work. I was finally seen by someone in the consultants team at the end of July, over 2 months after leaving hospital! I am a teacher & this was the start of the school holiday. The gynae team told me that they were aware I'd had to wait & it had impacted on work & they would do what they could to fit it in during the 6 week holiday. Again, I was reassured I was on a cancellation list. Again, I called every week to chase & was eventually told don't call us, we'll call you. I am fuming as I finally got my "pre-op tests" done in week 5 of the holiday. I couldn't get the blood tests done as there is no date still for my op, meaning that this was a waste of time as they told me info I already knew & asked me for info they already have from the last op, & I've still got to go back in. This paperwork exchange could have happened via the post weeks ago. It also means it will have to continue to impact on work. Furthermore, at my pre-op, I was told that they had me on the waiting list for Crawley but would have to change it to East surrey, meaning I had been waiting for weeks on the wrong waiting list & have had to start all over again. I personally think it is totally unacceptable for someone to be admitted into hospital in agony, be discharged & have to wait 3 months on pain relief & still not have an operation date. I don't know if there are any NICE guidelines on waiting time but this is totally unacceptable.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Zara Nadim, Clinical Lead, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

I am sorry to hear your story and what you have experienced, to be able to investigate this further I would like to get your name and date of birth and address please on my email address which is;


I will be able to come back to you with accurate response after looking into the facts in details, I noted that you have already been seen by a specialist and that your name was added to the waiting list, how urgent this will be categorised is based on his/her judgment, I am sorry if you were made to wait for your surgery. I do realise that you are in pain and required to use regular pain relief.

Waiting list and the length of waiting time is dependent on multiple factors; clinical condition and hospital capacity are some examples.

Looking forward to hear from you, aiming to work together to find a suitable solution

Kind regards

Zara Zadim

Chief for women and Children

Consultant obsterician and gynaecologist

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful