"Very dissatisfied"

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

Have been to women's hospital since the beginning of pregnancy. Assumed being a women's hospital it would of been the best but I was wrong. Have had letters sent for appointments which were the same day the letter was dated. Horrendous waiting times just for blood tests. I have had reduced fetal movement on numerous occasions and each time have had approx a 4 to 5 hour wait before even being seen in a cramped stuffy hot waiting area with horrible uncomfortable chairs. The amount of people who bring all the family who take up all the chairs is ridiculous and they won't move and neither will staff say anything. The receptionists are grumpy and don't say a word when you ask them questions. Seen a girl in labor in the waiting room and she was left in agony for hours before being seen.Last visit was shocking we waited 4 hours to be seen was then placed on a monitor and told the baby's heart rate is ok but you will need a scan but there is no one to do it as its now 6pm on a Friday. The doctor advised me I would be called Monday morning at 8am and I have had no response. I called the hospital repeatedly and again no one picked up!! This kind of service is shocking this is a life these people are dealing with. Half the time you see doctors and midwives chatting. When I was in the room bein monitored there was 4 other machines that were not even utilised but the whole waiting room was full of women concerned for their babies health as movements had changed or reduced. I am now 35 weeks and I am moving hospital care has been shocking throughout I would not recommend this hospital to my worst enemy.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

We are so sorry to hear about your experience at the Women's Hospital and your comments have been passed on the the areas that you refer to in your feedback so that we can look into all the issues you have raised. Please be assured that we take all comments very seriously and are concerned to hear how dissatisfied you have been. If you would like to speak to anyone further about your experience or for any support for future visits. Please contact our PALS Team on 0121 627 2747 or come and see us in main reception.

Thank you for taking the time to feedback, we hope that your future experiences will be much better and wish you all the best for the birth of your baby.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful