"Dignity and privacy not maintained and poor..."

About: Royal Derby Hospital

The staff on the paediatric ward showed no compassion or care. They did not communicate effectively often with 1 word answers, never explaining drugs or treatment given to my month old child. Nurses spoke with their backs facing me and made me feel like an inconvenience. Derby hospitals pledge to treat you as a person with dignity and respect at all times, I saw no evidence of this throughout our stay. I raised a valid concern over privacy and was told it had never been a problem before so didn't know why I was concerned. A senior nurse from another ward advised me this was a significant and valid concern. Very disappointed in the care and would go out of my way to never receive treatment here again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry you felt we did not meet the standards we aim for on this occasion and which you have every right to expect.

I can advise that your comments have been passed to the paediatric management team. However if you wish to discuss this matter further, please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Services Team (PALS) – quoting ref: 35181.

Kind regards

PALS

Freephone: 0800 7837691

Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful