"The food was always presented ..."

About: Friarage Hospital Site

(as the patient),

What I liked

The food was always presented well even when I had to have my meals pureed or mashed and there was always a good choice on offer. All the staff were friendly and helpful to both myself and in giving support to my wife.

What could be improved

My only complaint is having to wait so long for medication from the pharmacy on discharge - it always seems to take hours.

Anything else?

Thank to the staff, in particular those in ITU who did a fantastic job in helping me recover. I know that they didn't initially think this would be possible due to my underlying health problems but with their help I have succeeded and I am now home after two months in hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Friarage Hospital Site

Thank you for your very kind comments posted onto the NHS Choices website. It is always pleasing to note that patients have made a good recovery from their illness/surgery and I will ensure that your comments are given to the staff on ITU. I am sure they will be delighted to receive such positive feedback on their services. Additionally, I am pleased you were happy with the food choices on offer during your stay and the staff were helpful and supportive during meal times.

However, I am sorry you had to wait a long time for medication from the pharmacy. The Trust continually strives to improve the discharge process for patients and there is ongoing work to expedite the availability of medications/prescriptions. Your feedback will be forwarded to ITU, Pharmacy and Hotel Services (providers of the hospital’s catering service) staff. I would like to offer you my best wishes for the future.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful