"GP Appointment"

About: NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

(as the patient),

I feel like trying to get an appointment at Clydebank Health Centre's is now a complete joke... All I need is and antibiotic prescription. I used to be able to ask for an antibiotic prescription to be wrote out - I'm never at the health centre maybe once every 1 or 2 years. Now I have to get an appointment to waste a doctors time when a prescription will do. The receptionist has told me to phone every hour for a cancellation and she keeps saying no no no. The reason I never called at 8am might be that I was up in pain and could not sleep properly. I called at 9. 30am and every hour since. I think this has became a silly game to get bums on seats at the health centre and keep people phoning so they can get extra funding. But what happens when people actually need to see a doctor...? I've to get checked for Haemochromatosi and I need a new Asthma inhaler.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear Riconvanwinkle

Thank you for taking the time to post on Patient Opinion. I am sorry to read that you have been unable to get a prescription from your doctor over the phone.

However, GPs are responsible for their own appointment systems and patient care. I would advise that you raise what you have explained here with the Practice Manager, who will be able to help. Alternatively, I can pass this on to the Practice Manager on your behalf, if you would like to send me some personal details to Lisa.Ramsay@ggc.scot.nhs.uk.

Best wishes
Lisa

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful