"Outpatient bookings terrible"

Sent choose and book letter in June, given an apt for 23 august, this was then cancelled and rebooked. Letter with new date sent before second letter explaining cancellation. When I phoned outpatient appointments phone rung and went through the numbering for 15 mins! Tried at other times, no one answered the phone. Emailed the appointments email, no confirmation this arrived and no response. Pals unable to help. No wonder appointment times are months in advance, no one can get through! What happens if I want to change the appointment or cancel?!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Manchester Children's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are sorry about the difficulties you have experienced. We are aware that there have been problems with the telephone system used to manage telephone calls regarding outpatient appointments and a review of this system has been requested. In September 2016 there will also be an additional member of staff to respond to calls on 3 days each week.

It is difficult to respond to all the posts in a full way often because of a lack of detailed information, therefore if you would like to discuss this with us in more detail, please feel free to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk

Royal Manchester Children's Hospital