"Unhelpful receptionists"

About: NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

(as the patient),

I am not very good at putting things into words but I will have a go. I recently required a medication prescribed by a psychiatrist on a change of medication basis. As I was feeling extremely well on the day and my appointment was at 16: 20 I didn't get to my own GP till just before 5 to have them write the script.

I asked the receptionist if there was anyway they could fast track this as I needed it on the day (they have done this for me previously) They told me that all the doctors had left for the evening and the only doctor in the practice was the doctor carrying out emergencies. I was then told this could be put through until the morning. The receptionist was extremely unhelpful and not very understanding at all. I then phoned to make a complaint the person who took my call seemed pleasant enough until I started to explain what I actually needed the medication for. They completely refused to help in anyway at all. 

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear Trueblue72

Thank you for taking the time to post on Patient Opinion. I am sorry to read about your recent experience at your GP surgery.

However, GPs are responsible for their own patient care and I would advise that your raise what you have explained here with the Practice Manager directly, who will be able to help you further. Alternatively, I can pass this on to the Practice Manager on your behalf, if you would like to send me some personal details along with the name of your GP surgery to Lisa.Ramsay@ggc.scot.nhs.uk.

Best wishes
Lisa

  • Trueblue72 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Update posted by Trueblue72 (the patient)

Lisa, I have emailed you on the email that you provided. Thanks.

Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear Trueblue72

I wanted to let you know that I haven't received your email yet.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best wishes
Lisa

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by Trueblue72 (the patient)

Yes it says the email address doesnt exist lisa.

Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear Trueblue72

I am sorry about that. Alternatively, you can contact me on 0300 123 9987, which is a freephone number.

Best wishes
Lisa

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful