"very bad service!"

About: South Tyneside District Hospital

what has happend that in 2016 you can turn up at a hospital with a susspected broken wrist an be offered over the counter pain killers,when i told the nurse ive been takeing 30mg codeine for trhe past year because of lower back pain (car crash) and i havent been able to sleep with the pain due to the broken wrist, they said "we havent got any stronger pain killers" my partner had to argue with a nurse to get anyware .So the nurse said they wouldent be giving me any pain relife other than 1 15 mg codien and advised my partner and i that i should go to my G.P.

at 4.00pm to collect my prescription that wasnt due for another day the nurse said they had phoned my G.P. an cleared it with them. so we left not feeling very happy with the hole experience ,when my partner went to my G.P. at 4.00pm to pick up my pre arranged medication ,it turned out that the nurse had not phoned my G.P. and aranged anything an the hole thing had been a lie to move us out like cattle with no pain relife, this day in age i think behaviour like that is a joke my partner is my regestered carer and had to then explaine to the reseptionst at my G.P. the hole story about the nightmare that was southtyneside Acc/Emerg minor ingerese, then my partner was told that it would have been due to costs... while i type with one hand and my right hand swollen up like a balloon i will not be going back to the outpatient apointment an wont be going back even if its really needed, I know the NHS has cut backs but for the nurse to lie and tell us to get pain killers from my GP because they had pre arranged it and had not!!! I think is very disappointing and the nurse should be retrained to give service to people ,care for,and provide pain relife for the afflicted ,not pander to" we have to save money over people's needs" that attitude for a nurse to have is very dangerous and should be looked at,so i will be takeing it further an i will put in an offical complatint

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from South Tyneside District Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent visit to the Accident and Emergency Department at South Tyneside District Hospital.

I am very sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your experience and we will ensure your feedback is shared with the Business Manager of the service. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns further to enable a full investigation of the concerns that you have raised. If you would like to contact our Customer Services Department on 0191 404 1072 or e-mail customer.services@stft.nhs.uk a member of the team will take the necessary details from you.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can gain an understanding of what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful