"Letting down their vulnerable patients - total..."

My uncle was sectioned and admitted to the Zinnia Centre. My auntie, who is my uncle’s main carer, does not speak English. Therefore as her extended family we assist with regards to my uncle’s care, even though we are all in full time employment.

Prior to him being discharged his care team went through potential signs to look out for that would indicate a relapse.

My uncle and auntie were given a support worker from the centre.

Since May my uncle started to display the signs that we were told could indicate a relapse. As well as mental health issues my uncle has physical illnesses which need to be monitored.

My uncle is refusing to attend any medical appointments.

In addition to this he did not attend his appointments with his doctor at the Zinnia Centre. Therefore, I contacted Zinnia Centre and was told that his doctor would do a home visit. His doctor did not do a home visit.

Since then I have contacted Zinnia Centre and left numerous messages for the support worker.

I have heard nothing.

In addition to this we wrote down my auntie’s concerns with regards to my uncle’s wellbeing. This was handed over to my uncles support worker when they came to give him his injection at home. Still there has been no home visit from the doctor.

I am absolutely shocked and disappointed at the standard of care/support my uncle and auntie are receiving. As a family we have followed the instructions and have tried to inform the staff that my uncle is demonstrating signs of a relapse. Unfortunately the staff at Zinnia Centre have let my uncle and auntie down dreadfully. I have now decided not to leave any more messages for my uncles support worker because it is pointless! I would be grateful if someone from Zinnia Centre could tell me what is the point of going through after care and allocating a support worker to patients if they do not help prevent a relapse? Does my uncle need to be sectioned again before Zinnia Centre offers any assistance?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Zinnia Centre

We were not alerted to your post and apologise for the delay. Please can you contact our PALS service on Freephone 0800 953 0045 and they will link you to our Director for the Zinnia service. We seek to resolve this issue as a matter of urgency.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful