"My husband suffered Massive Bleed on the Brain/..."

About: King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

Hi I am so angry I feel I need to let you know how disgusted I am with the treatment my poor husband has received and the way he has been treated.

He was in the Jack Steinberg Ward CCU.

I have no problem with the critical care department where he was looked after, after suffering a massive bleed on his brain he had 50/50 chance of survival has suffered brain damage and had Sepsis.

He was moved to HDU from Critical care on

Jack Steinberg ward. After waiting 3 days. to be moved there.

Once there I was told he didn't need to be there and would be going to Kinnier Wilson ward, where for three days they had a bed then they didn't then he eventually was moved there late at night on 24 July.

When I arrived on the 25 July I was then told he didn't need to be there either and was going to be moved to the Friends Stroke Ward.

I arrived yesterday to go to the Friends Stroke ward being the 26 July I received a phone call as I arrived at Kings to say my husband was being moved to Lewisham Hospital.

He was sat with his chin on his chest and I requested that he be made more comfortable. He hadn't been shaved he still had the plaster on his feeding tube on his nose from the previous ward the day before. I took 20 hairs off of it as he is losing his hair and when I remarked about it not being changed being as it was on a feeding tube, I was told they do not have elasto plasters on the Friends Stroke Ward, hope no one cuts themselves.

First I was told I was not able to go with Derrick and I pointed out that I had just travelled by bus and train with a bandaged hand having had a Carpal Tunnel operation the previous week. I was told I would have to make my own way to Lewisham Hospital.

An enquiry was made and it was agreed that I would be allowed to travel with my husband.

The call I received was at 14.00 hours.

Would you believe throughout the day and night transport was on their way.

We were in a queue.

They would be there in the next 35 minutes to 1 hour.

Then another hour.

Then they had to wait for and ambulance with a stretcher .

Waited on the ward and I had not eaten since 12 noon and it was now 23.12 a nurse did give me a cup of tea and a cake!

At 23.12 transport had still not arrived and I was informed that Lewisham would not accept him until the morning!

I then had to phone my daughter to travel from Woolwich to come at get me and arrived home at 01.11.

I wish to report transport for this abysmal fiasco.

I have phoned Kings Friends Stroke Ward my husband has gone to Lewisham Hospital and no one had the decency to phone and let me know that he has finally gone!

Also the treatment my husband received being pushed from pillow to post with no communication as to why this was all happening.

My poor husband doesn't even recognize me without being moved to several wards within a few days then a different hospital.

I am disgusted with his treatment with no dignity at all.

Julia

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

I am very sorry to hear about the service that you and your husband received at King's College Hospital and apologies for the confusion and upset that this has caused you.

In cases like this, we really would like to investigate where things went wrong and I would encourage you to get in contact so that we can follow this up.

Although you have mentioned PALS in your comment title, this is the best initial route to get in touch so that we can get more information from you and follow up with the right teams, including the Friends Stroke Unit.

I will also copy this message to our Head of Nursing for neurosciences who I know will be keen to resolve the issues you have experienced.

Please do get in touch. You can email pals at kch.tr.PALS@nhs.net.

Our Head of Nursing for Neurosciences who is responsible for Frank Cooksey and the Friends Stroke Unit is Morag Ainge and her email is morag.ainge@nhs.net. Once again, I would like to apologise on behal of King's and I would urge you to contact us so that we can follow up on the issues that you have shared with us.