"A waste of time"

My wife was discharged from hospital, before she left we were promised (in answer to a direct question) support would be in place from the moment she left the hospital... they lied. We were given a piece of paper saying support is available 24/7 by ringing the "crisis line" ... they lied. When I rang the crisis line I was told the waiting time was less than two minutes, twenty minutes later I was still waiting for someone to answer the phone so they lied yet again. I rang the home based care team number and got a recorded message saying "no one was available at the moment" I left a message which left them no doubt as to how unimpressed I was and surprise I received a call back within ten minutes. The whole set up is shambolic and puts vulnerable people at risk

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Customer Services Manager, South West Yorkshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologise for the circumstances that led to your contact with this site and offer my assurances that, as a Trust, we take complaints very seriously. We always seek to do all that we can to respond and learn lessons from them.

If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please contact the Trust's customer services team on 0800 587 2108 or email them at customer.servicesSWYT@nhs.net.

Many thanks