"Disappointing treatment at A&E Dept"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

I visited the A&E department late in the evening on Fri 22nd July, I was booked in very quick & efficiently and then waited a short time for a triage nurse to assess me. I had been advised to attend the department by my gp as I had been experiencing (and still am) severe stomach pains/cramps, triage nurse took me straight through to a bed and a nurse attended very promptly & hooked me up to a monitor & inserted a cannula in my hand & took some blood, I was then given some pain relief & was informed I could be waiting a while for the doctor which was understandable. The doctor came round and didn't really feel my stomach just said they would wait for blood results to come back, after a while they came back and said my bloods had come back all fine and basically there was nothing wrong with me so I could go home, no explanation into what my pain could possibly be which left me rather upset & disappointed as I was none the wiser on what could be causing this pain. I cannot fault the care by the nursing staff but the doctor that treated me was very unsympathetic & I made me feel that I had completely wasted their time.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Mr Gates

We are sorry to hear you had reason to attend our Emergency Department and concerned that you were made to feel like a time waster by the Dr attending you, as this is most certainly not the impression we want our patients to leave with.

Due to the nature of your concern I have raised your comments with the lead consultant who will raise this issue with the medical staff in particular the junior doctor attending you to address any training needs.

I thank you for highlighting that you found the care from the nursing staff beyond fault and I will be sure to share your kind regard with them.

We hope your pain and symptoms have now eased but if not please do seek further medical advice either through your GP or hospital.

If you would like to discuss further please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALs) on 01202 704886 who would be happy to arrange a meeting.

Regards

Patient Engagement Team