"Good clinical care, very poor management"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

I can't fault the medical care. What is an absolute shambles is everything around that treatment.

Attended at about 5:40 pm. Triaged in 20 minutes or so. The triage cubicles are not private. Sitting on the furthest bank of chairs you could hear ever word said, including an elderly patient being impatiently harangued for not having attended sooner.

It was then well over an hour, despite being very quiet, before being seen by an emergency nurse practitioner. An awful long time passed between each patient leaving and the next being called, including when a called patient had left the premises. At one point when in cubicles the consultant was heatedly having a go at the staff for not having attended to 8 patients. After being called, the nurse, who had already worked 12 hours, dealt with my medical issue thoroughly but for something minor - clean, dress, issue antibiotics - it took an age. I had to repeat all the triage stuff over again. The trolley didn't have the right dressings.

There were not enough antibiotics in the Department in the early evening to issue a full course so I was given a few and a prescription to get the rest from the hospital pharmacy which had closed so return trip needed as hospital prescriptions can't be processed anywhere else but the hospital. Whose stupid idea is that!

At least half the 40 minutes or so in cubicles was spent hand writing notes and form filling. This is 2016 for goodness sakes. Has this hospital not heard of computers. Believe me this is not the Holby City you see on a Tuesday and Saturday night.

So medical staff thorough and clinically professional but painfully slow, missing dressings, insufficient basic drugs, unnecessary second visit needed, masses of excruciating hand written paperwork, inadequate privacy but I got fixed up and out by 8pm so not the waiting nightmare it could have been. I felt sorry for the masses waiting as I left. Department management is responsible for poor stocking of basics. Trust / hospital management is to blame for the paperwork instead of computer tablets. Dreadful, so much time and money wasted while patients suffer. Upon my return to pick up the remaining antibiotics the short stay car parkticket machine clock was set 5 minutes fast so you can get robbed or ticketed for overstaying. Great.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

Whilst we were pleased to hear that your medical care was good, we're sorry to hear of your comments which have been passed on to the department's senior managers. However the Emergency Department has been very busy and we have had a huge demand on our resources. When people are sitting in the waiting room they cannot see and have full appreciation of the demand on the department, for instance from high numbers of emergency ambulances attending. There are also times when the resuscitation area is completely full on every shift. The needs of these acutely sick people must come as priority and we urge people whose need is for a minor condition to seek treatment or advice other than at A and E.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful