"The delivery suite that I laboured ..."

About: City Hospital campus

(as the patient),

What I liked

The delivery suite that I laboured in was calming and relaxing and a very positive environment in which to give birth, and even had a bubble lamp, tv and CD player. The support that was provided to me by three seperate midwives and a junior doctor in the first 25 hours of a 27 hour labour was also fantastic and together they created a very nice, even fun atmosphere - even sharing a tub of pringles with us while we watched the Strictly final!

What could be improved

During the final two hours of my labour my experience turned into a very negative and scary one in which two registrars and a midwife burst into my room, completely disregarded any simple wishes that I had shared with the midwives that I had established relationships with, and took over my care in a very aggresive and impatient maner.

Things that I had expressively asked not to be asked to do where ordered of me and my birth partners and I felt shocked, scared and completely disregarded and worthless. I was shouted at and ordered to push myself up the bed, despite having had an epidural and being unable to push myself up. I was told that they couldn't help me so I would have to. Despite being able to articulate that the epidural had not worked properly I was also told that it was just a contraction and that I was 'imagining things'. It was later confirmed by theatre staff that it had not worked down one side of me.

The registrars in particular treated me with little respect or dignity and never once greeted me, smiled or told me their names. Even whilst going through labour their complete lack of compassion was visible to all in the room and they were extremely rude to the midwife who had been caring for me for hours. When eventually the decision was made that forceps would have to be used, I was upset to find out that they would be carrying out the procedure due to their previous actions and the fact that they did not seem to care in any way for my feelings or emotional well-being.

Anything else?

All-in-all I look back on the majority of my labour in a very positive way (including the forceps delivery in which the theatre staff were absolutely fantastic, in particular the anaesthetist). It is a shame that such a positive and important life experience should have been partly ruined by the impatience and lack of general compassion of three members of staff who are lucky to call themselves health professionals as what I witnessed and experienced was far from professional...

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from City Hospital campus

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and sharing with us the positive aspects of your time at our hospital. However you have also highlighted several areas of particular concern that do need to be addressed by us. Please could you contact our Complaints Team on 0800 183 0204 so we can investigate this immediately and provide you with a full response.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful