"Waiting List 12 week promise"

About: Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow / Brain, spinal and nerve problems

(as the patient),

Even after disc surgery in 2015 at the Glasgow Royal Infirmary I continued to have serious pain and at every follow up appointment I told the various people I saw. In the summer 2015 at an appointment it was mentioned that I probably needed more surgery but as it can take up to a year for the nerve to recover it was agreed I would wait. But 8 weeks later I was referred back to get an appointment with the consultant. I saw the consultant towards the end of 2015 and it was suggested I try a nerve block to identify the problem. In early 2016 I had the nerve block which gave relief for a few days. At this time I was on a variety of strong drugs including morphine which meant I had to take sick leave from work for the second time in after only returning in may 2015.

It was agreed in spring this year that I needed more surgery as there was still something trapping the sciatic nerve, but I would be passed to the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow for the surgery.

I received the letter telling me my operation would be carried out on or before the end of June. I very quickly got an appointment for my pre med and this was done at the Royal. I continued to phone the Queen Elizabeth asking about a date to always be given the same story that there were a lot of emergencies and there was no date in the foreseeable future. As June approached I phoned again to be told the same story and it would not be done by the 12 weeks. At the end of June I phone again to be told there was no sight of a date in July either.

I was then admitted to the Glasgow Royal Infirmary Hospital for 5 days for chronic pain, and as there is no neurosurgeon at this hospital they contacted the Queen Elizabeth to also be told there is no sign of a date either. I was discharged still in pain as there was nothing they could do to help except increase one of my tablets.

I am currently sitting at home in pain and I have no where to turn to. I don't even have the name of a consultant at the Queen Elizabeth as the one from there didn't see me and they have no idea about my condition. What do you have to do, I have made a formal complaint about the Queen Elizabeth, contacted my msp and a letter has been sent from the GRI.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde


Thank you for taking the time to post on Patient Opinion. I am sorry to read about the delays you have been experiencing waiting for a date for surgery, especially as the pain you are experiencing resulted in a hospital admission.

I see that you have already made a formal complaint about what you have explained here on Patient Opinion. This process will provide you with the best response of full and accurate information and will also be able to provide more personal information than via Patient Opinion.

Best wishes

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful