"Referral for physiological condition help"

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

It took me 40-45mins to get to this hospital for my appointment as I was told this was the only in the area that could help my condition. My referral letter gave me the wrong postcode which took me to the old department. When I called to say I was lost a very rude receptionist directed me but made me feel very rushed an panicked. On the appointment I was greeted by a very nice member of staff, however they decided to guess my issues instead of talking to me and getting to know why I was there.

The member of staff explained how they could definitely help with my problem but they would need to speak to my partner first. I was in the appointment for 10mins if that. Then my partner had to book time off out of work to come to the second appointment that was 'vital he came or it wouldn't work' to sit there for 5-10mins to be handed a piece of paper saying google what you need to do. I think this service is awful as we have both taken time off work to travel when all this could have been kept to a phone call or at least just explained to me. Will not be returning for our 'follow up visit' after we have treated and diagnosed ourselves!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are so sorry to hear about your experience and that you felt let down by our service.

We take feedback very seriously and are working hard to ensure that all patients and families have the best possible experience.

I am sorry you were spoken to rudely by the receptionist and that you were rushed in your appointment.

It is part of our Trust Values that patients feel listened to and supported and we would welcome the chance to speak to you about your concerns.

Please contact the PALS Team on 0121 627 2747 who can discuss these issues with you and help you to achieve resolution so that the service we provide for you and other patients can continually improve.

Again, thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback.

Amy Maclean, Head of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful