"Terrible experience"

I wasted months travelling back and forth, each time being assured that I was being assessed to decide what was the best form of treatment for me. Eventually after many hours of being "assessed" I was told that the only treatment available was a group centred cost effective method that was totally unsuitable to my problems. When I queried this I was met with hostility. They said that they would schedule me another appointment, this arrived at my house the same day as the appointment and whilst I was at work. When I arrived home I contacted the counselling team and they told me they would be in touch. They never got back to me. In total I had waited about 9 months from my initial referral from my GP to the first appointment at Foley House and then another 9 months of so called assessment. The whole experience left me in a worst state than when I first went to see my GP. I genuinely feel as if I was being strung along until I accepted the limited treatment on offer or I stopped going to appointments. I have since that time not recovered but simply struggle through life the best way I can.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Customer Services Manager, South West Yorkshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologise for the circumstances that led to your contact with this site and offer my assurances that, as a Trust, we take complaints very seriously. We always seek to do all that we can to respond and learn lessons from them.

If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please contact the Trust's customer services team on 0800 587 2108 or email them at customer.servicesSWYT@nhs.net.

Many thanks