"Two family members Not treated well."

About: Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

My father was sent to cramlington in Feb.2016 after being visited by GP at home who was very concerned and ordered an urgent ambulance to take him in although we could have driven him, the GP felt he should be monitored as he was quite unwell. Three hours later no urgent ambulance had appeared and we received a phone call from the ambulance service to say they didn't have one and could they take him in a taxi! so much for monitoring an 85 year old who was becoming increasingly confused and unwell.After arriving at Aand E and checking in my father sat for 6 hours before being seen at 9 pm,the Dr who did see him was very good and did all the tests ,they decided to admit him to Ward 9 he went to the ward at 11pm and / I left him talking and lucid,I returned at 2 pm the following day to find him sitting on a chair in his room totally confused with wet and dirty pjs a bleeding foot with no dressing on he was very distressed and not one member of staff was around to ask for help.no staff member had helped him to the toilet or I think helped him with fluids or diet,when I did manage to speak to a staff nurse they were very vague about my dad's care and cause of his confusion ,no treatment had been indicated and consequently he became quite unwell that evening requiring oxygen and Iv antibiotics,nobody rang me to inform me that he had worsened nor did they tell me about his condition when I rang in the morning.The staffing levels on the ward were totally inadequate,they appeared to have bank or agency staff and non of them knew anything about their patients. my father was transfered to Hexham after 4 days.I didn't complain at the time thinking they were very busy but I've just had my daughter sent to Cramlingtonafter becoming poorly at work after having a serious reaction to some medicine which serverly lowered her blood pressure and pulse ,she was admitted via an ambulance at 12.45 this afternoon she was not see by a Dr until 16 55 and was . on her way home at 17 05 so she sat feeling very unwell 4 hours to be seen for 5 mins and not have any Obs at all done.What , a total waste of time and money.She could have been seen at Hexham.If she was having an anaphylactic reaction she would have been seriously ill.T he accident ad Emergency depArtment appears to be in serious disarray,patients should not h ave to wait this long to be seen.We live in northumberland but any future care required will be requested from Newcastle.Your service is failing the northumberland people it is not providing good care and is struggling to cope.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am extremely saddened to read your review. There are a number of issues which you have raised that I would very much like the opportunity to discuss with you in more detail. I am deeply concerned about your account of your fathers time on Ward 9, and I want to look into this as soon as possible. However it remains difficult for me to look into your fathers care without his name, date of birth and address. With his permission, please could you email me privately with his details and I can begin making enquiries into what happened. My email is Annie.Laverty@nhct.nhs.uk.

I am sorry for the delay both your daughter and father experienced whilst waiting for treatment in our Accident and Emergency Department. We’re experiencing a high demand on the service but we are doing everything we can to see patients as quickly as possible. I understand how frustrating it can be for very poorly patients to be sat waiting in excess of 4 hours. I am also sorry for the delay your father experienced for an ambulance, I would suggest contacting The North East Ambulance Service (NEAS) to report this issue and they can look into the reasons behind the delay. All of the appropriate contact details for NEAS can be found here: https://www.neas.nhs.uk/contact-us.aspx.

Please do get in touch with me.

Kind regards to you and your family,


Annie Laverty – Director of Patient Experience