"Blodd tests"

About: Gravesham Community Hospital

I am in my 84th year and attended at Bath Street at 1.15 pm today only to be told that due to the amount of arrivals waiting I could not be seen. Now I have always had 1st class service from that department in the past but have to say that if your opening times state closing at 2.0. pm then that is what it should mean. The elderly coming in from surrounding villages should receive more consideration . Surely your procedures should be flexible enough to cope with, what appears to have been a sudden surge. This is the first time I have found it necessary to complain however I am sure that you can appreciate my frustration at the time wasted and the attendant costs involved in this wasted visit.

I would add that this is in no way a criticism of the staff, they are first class, but more a comment on the system.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gravesham Community Hospital


Please accept our sincere apologies that you were unable to seen for your blood test when you arrived at Gravesham Community Hospital last Friday.

We are very sorry that you had a wasted journey and for the inconvenience this caused you and your attendant.

The manager in charge of Phlebotomy and the Minor Injury Unit there has advised that they only had 2 phlebotomists in the department due to sickness and the unavailability of bank or agency to fill the shifts which occurred from Tuesday. Signs were put up in the department and all patients who had taken a ticket before the doors were closed to new attendees were honoured which caused the staff to leave after their normal hours on all 4 days. Unfortunately this is a walk in service and we are unable to announce any issues to the community.

It is good to hear that you have always received a first class service in the past from the staff there and it is with regret that the service you received last week failed to meet our normal high standards.

Best wishes

Customer Care Team

Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0300 123 1807

Email: kcht.cct@nhs.net

Website: www.kentcht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful