"lack of respect towards patients"

About: St James's University Hospital

My daughter is currently staying on ward j20, she is very ill and is a young woman.after a week of being moved from pillow to post, waiting for a bed,we finally received her results , this ward is well known to accommodate heroin users with all types of infections,my daughter is in a room of her own due to her infection, (not drug related!!) tonight a nurse entered her room and told her she is going onto a ward with other patients, she got upset and scared, with worry she was violently sick and her temperature shot up due to stress of how this nurse came across, because my daughter tried explaining why she was scared to share a room, (also due to her illness) the ignorant nurse told her they will "get security to throw her out" if she did not comply. This is disgusting, my baby has been through so much this week, she's lucky to be alive,what happened to dignity,support,person centred attitudes? This nurse did not even once listen to my daughters views, as a carer in mental health myself, I just cannot justify the ignorance this nurse displayed towards my daughter..i will be contacting The rightful authorities in order to make a formal complaint... May I also add, the disrespect from the staff working twilight shift are noisy, rude, bang doors openly shout down the corridor to each other. Show some respect st James

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.

I am very sorry to read of the distressing time your daughter has had whilst in our care; the level of service that you have described is not what we wish to offer.

I have passed your comments onto the Matron and Head of Nursing for ward 20 at St James Hospital so that they can address the concerns that you have raised

It would be very beneficial for our services and for future patients if you could discuss the matters you have raised further with our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS). This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Kind regards

Rosie

Senior Nurse

Patient Experience