About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Was told to get to the hospital for 7:30am, got there at 7am with everyone else, no where to sit whilst waiting as too many people, bowel prep taken for a morning appointment , didn't actually go in until gone midday (So technically should have been on the afternoon bowel prep schedule). Not good enough LRI, people are kept waiting far too long, left to get anxious, thirsty and hungry and not informed how long they have to wait. This shows lack of organising and compassion for patients, need to rethink procedures.

I have to visit many hospitals ie. Nottingham City, QMC, Leicester General/Glenfield etc. And at none of these have I had this level of lack of communication/care, why not have a dedicated centre at one of the Leicester hospitals for this procedure, and keep communication a priority.

I was given less than a weeks notice for a colonoscopy under general anaesthetic, pre op at less than 2 days notice (even though initially they had me down for an endoscopy) I managed to get here on time for all my appointments, shame it can't be reciprocated or at least communicated why surgeries run late

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Communications Officer, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We’re really disappointed and sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Royal Infirmary and you were disappointed with the lack of communication from staff on the day.

The short notice to a general anaesthetic colonoscopy is usually down to a slot becoming available due to a cancellation. We can only apologise that you did not have enough notice and will ensure these lists are planned more in advance so the booking and pre-assessment is carried out earlier.

If you wish to discuss this in further detail, please email: communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk with your name, address, date of birth and hospital number and we will investigate this further for you.

Once again we apologise you were unhappy with your experience at the Royal Infirmary recently.

Kind regards,

Sam Sangal,

Consultant, Colorectal Surgery

Leicester’s Hospital