"Good Service"

About: Bradford Royal Infirmary

Given the recent negative reviews I wanted to include my experiences at the BRI. After suffering a miscarriage last year I was comforted by the staff in the early pregnancy unit; even though it was very clinical I can understand why they can't be involved in every patients unhappy times and their service was still professional.

This time around I have had 2 more scans than I was supposed to have to make sure everything is ok. I feel very looked after. The midwives who have done my scans have been chatty and helpful and always happy to answer questions. The scan pictures I have received have so far been free of charge and I have very good, clear pictures. Although I would like pictures of different parts of the baby (like feet, spine etc) I am not complaining because they have been free and great so far.

The staff seem very busy but not too busy to stop and talk and answer questions. I have no complaints about the maternity ward staff and feel comfortable and excited to give birth at the BRI later this year.

The one issue letting the BRI down is the nurses who take blood, they all seem so miserable and rushed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Bradford Royal Infirmary

Hello, first of I must apologise for the delay in replying - there has been a problem with the site notifying us when someone posts a review, which we have just become aware of. We do value all the feedback we receive, so thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. I am really sorry to hear you have had the sad experience of losing a baby, it is so important that we can provide compassionate care in these circumstances. It does sound as though you may feel we could have provided some more support, and it would be good to talk to you about this, if you would like to contact us about this. However I will pass on your comments to the unit and to the Matron and Head of Midwifery.

It it great to hear you are now looking forward to the birth of a baby, and are happy overall with your care, but I will also highlight your comments about the staff taking blood when you come to BRI, so that we can remind staff of the need to be warm and caring even when they are busy.

If you would like to contact us please email patient.experience@bthft.nhs.uk or call 01274 383863. I hope all continues to go well for you and your baby.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful