"Concerns about a nurse on W13"

About: Hairmyres Hospital / General Medicine

(as a relative),

My Relative was admitted to W13 in Hairmyres Hospital, after having been in A&E for over 10hrs, and then on W2 for a night.

I still had not been told what was wrong with him and, to cut a long story short, I asked to speak to the nurse in charge of their care. A nurse on W13 spoke with us, and was very patronising and gaining any information was difficult.

The nurse said I would not understand a heart trace if they did show it to me, nor would I understand the blood or urine test results. This same nurse said that old people fall when they get infections, it's part of growing old. They also said it is hospital policy to inject patients who have mobility issues with a blood thinner, but refused to acknowledge my concerns regarding the impact this might have on my relatives Vascular dementia and my concern that they had also fallen while on W2.

I later learned that the nurse had told my sister-in-law that I had said I had Power-of-Attorney over my relatives affairs. I do NOT have PoA, nor did I say this, but I did have my relatives permission to speak about their care, as they didn't know what was happening to them.

I feel the nurse was covering their back as I had stated I was wanting to complain about their attitude. This caused a family row at a time when we were all worried about our elderly relative. I do not expect a health professional to have such a condescending attitude, and I especially to not expect them say something so blatantly untrue to my relatives. This is entirely unacceptable and unprofessional.

Fortunately my relative was discharged home well.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Susan Friel, Chief of Nursing Services, Hairmyres Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Susan Friel

Dear Crow

I'm so sorry that you did not feel that you were given the support or information you needed when your relative was a patient in Ward 13 recently. This must have been a very difficult time for you all, and I'm concerned that we failed to keep you / your family adequately informed. I would be keen that we had the opportunity to discuss what happened to you in more detail, so that we can learn and improve. Could I ask that you contact our Patient Affairs Manager on 01355 585 325, and she will ensure the right person has the opportunity to look at this as soon as possible, and provide you with feedback.

Many Thanks

Susan

  • Crow thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too