"Respect at decisions could have been better at Rotherham"

About: Rotherham Hospital / Paediatrics

(as the patient),

I had suspected meningitis and a viral infection. I went to Rotherham Hospital Children's Ward. The best thing was the fact that when I told them I were not happy they eventually listened. But think their respect at my decisions could have been better. I was not happy when they told me to go home without what I felt was any reason or results which was not good enough.

The only people that listen and treat me with respect are Dr. Collinson, Dr. Kelly and the nurses. Thanks.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your comments about your experience on the children's ward. I am pleased to hear that you felt your concerns were listened to , even if not initially, and that the staff you mention treated you with respect.

I am sorry that you did not receive adequate explanations of your illness or the results of your tests. Unfortunately it is not always possible to access confirmed test results before a patient goes home due to the nature of the tests.

Please feel free to contact the ward if you would like any further explanation.