"A mix bag!"

About: Kettering General Hospital

Our 2 days in KGH 15/06/16

The good - Some really good people who deserve the great feedback!

The MW in the delivery was calm, organised, knowledgeable and helped guide us through! Another member of staff on Rowan was also great, with great advice and full of support. There were others members of the team that were equally good.

The not so good - parking at Rockingham wing is shocking! Decor of the area is dated and in need of revamp! Food is poor and not what you expect from a hospital! The MW at night was very rude to my partner, who was very tired and short on words. This does not mean being spoken to like you're stupid! People may not be English, but don't rush to state their English is poor! My partner didn't feel safe in a 4 bed room with a male staying overnight in the next bay! The staff seem to be constantly chasing around, with what's seems too much to do! Took an age for the little one to be checked over by a doctor, so good job all was well. I wouldn't say the cleanliness of the is great, but not sure the team have enough time to give more than a quick tidy of the areas.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback your recent experience of Kettering Maternity service. I am pleased to hear that you felt the care and approach from some Midwives was positive but disappointed that you did not feel this was reflective of all the staff you met during your stay. It is our aim to try to tailor the care we provide to each individuals needs and if this was not fully achieved for you we are very sorry.

We very much value the feedback we get and share it with all the staff in order to improve the service we provide. We will review the specific issues you have raised with the team.

If you would like to talk to us further about any part of your care please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Kim Attley Rowan - Ward Matron 01536 492916

Polly Leigh - Lead Midwife 01536 492902

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful