"Taking over people's pregnancys"

About: St Mary's Hospital (Melton Mowbray)

I would never recommend this hospital to any expecting mother, the staff take over your pregnancy completely. I am not happy atall with the fact that everytime an appointment is made the decisions around this are always made for me and no question of what day or even what time would be suitable for you, just that little bit of involvement would make my experience 100% but they do not do this. The way they speak and conduct them selves is usually very patronising and makes you feel as though you are being spoken down to. The only care I have been happy with is on triage 2 midwives that I wish I remembered their names really stood out to be extreamly down to earth and very easy to feel comfortable with. The midwives on antinatal I feel I can not bond with which will make it harder when my son does arive as I do not feel comfortable with them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Mary's Hospital

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, however we are not completely certain that you have reviewed the correct hospital or birthing centre.

The St Mary's you have highlighted is in Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire and is no longer known as ‘St Mary’s Hospital’ . The hospital was renamed some 10 years ago; it is now the Melton Mowbray Hospital and St Mary’s Birth Centre (SMBC) is a department within it. There are a number of other St Mary's in the country and we do wonder if you have reviewed the wrong hospital.

Secondly, references to services or areas within the comment would appear not to relate to SMBC.

SMBC is a low risk unit, there are also no triages, theatres, assessment centres etc only one 8 bedded ward, 2 birth rooms and a quiet room.

If however your review is SMBC in Melton Mowbray please email communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk with your name, address, contact number and hospital number and the Centre Manager will be in contact with you to to go through any decisions with you, fully discuss them and if necessary make alternative suggestions in order to ensure that your delivery plans are made with your agreement.

Best wishes, Communications Team, Leicester's Hospitals.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful