"Put you through hoops"

About: Great Ormond Street Hospital Central London Site

Really poor service. Even when they are the only paediatric rheumatologists who have seen your child, made diagnosis and planned action, they will not see your child again unless you find another paediatric rheumatologist to to refer. Our local hospital has no paediatric rheumatologist. Kafkaesque and no guidance given about what we should do Well, if he's not on the system, it's not their problem I suppose but not very child centred approach. Manner of receptionist in stark contrast to other hospitals we are now trying to get support from.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Great Ormond Street Hospital Central London Site

Thank you for sharing your poor experience. We are sorry that we did not communicate with you clearly and apologise for this. At Great Ormond Street Hospital we frequently need to work closely with a General Paediatrician based at a child’s local hospital and it is in the patient’s best interests that we ensure this relationship is in place. We regret that you were instead told that we needed to work with a Paediatric Rheumatology Consultant at your local hospital. If you would like any help in clarifying the plan for your child please feel free to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (Pals) at pals@gosh.nhs.uk or by telephone on 02078297862. Again, we would like to apologise for this confusion and thank you for giving this feedback.