"Phantom appointment"

About: Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We had a cardiac appointment last year on a Friday pm and arrived to a deserted Withington Suite, no patients and no staff. After shouting for assistance, around 10 minutes later, 4 staff appeared with mugs and one of these informed us that the appointment had been cancelled as they were too busy. Allegedly, they could not reach us on any contact number although I had tried to ring them several times beforehand only to find the voicemail was full - beware it still is!

Wasted trip of around 40 miles and two hours of time with my autistic son. No accountability, no care, just excuses for very poor service.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Hi there,

Many thanks for bringing this to our attention and for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you had such poor experience at Cheltenham General and will certainly pass your comments on to the staff there. If you haven't already done so, it would be good to get in touch with our patient liaison (PALS) team who can take a few more details and look into it further. You can call PALS on 0800 019 3282 (Free phone) or email pals.gloucestershire@glos.nhs.uk

Best wishes

The team at Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust