"Server blood loss & miscarriage"

About: Royal Stoke University Hospital / Accident and emergency Royal Stoke University Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

I was taken into a&e in the evening with severe blood loss & was kept in until lunchtime 2 days later. The care I received from the a&e staff was brilliant. I was seen by a number of gynaecologists throughout my stay & all but one were really professional. I was moved a number of times & eventually scanned to check what was happening as I had been bleeding for several hours at that point. After the scan it was decided that I needed to have surgery to remove any tissue that was left & was not coming away naturally.

The gynaecologist that told me this never went through a consent form with me so it did hold the procedure up slightly. When the gynaecologist/surgeon who was performing the procedure came to see me they were quite unprofessional while asking me questions. They asked how I was going to prove to them that I was miscarrying! Why hadn't I got my maternity notes with me & they were surprised to me a woman who was going through this to be reacting the way I was. They expected to see more tears! At this point I was shocked & asked them how they wanted me to prove this to them, were my notes not enough, was the scan I'd had that day not enough? They wanted to see a picture of the first scan I'd had where it was found there was no heartbeat, which I didn't have one & was never offered one. It was a very traumatising time for myself & my husband, this person did not make it any easier. Even the nurse that was in the room looked shocked. I felt that they never looked at my notes properly, I didn't have my maternity file with me as it was on the top of my list of things to get as I was being wheeled from the house by the paramedics.

On a whole every other person that I dealt with were really nice & compassionate. Unfortunately I had a one person who should have been compassionate & wasn't.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands

Dear 'Lotty287'

I would like to thank you for acknowledging the times when you were treated well. However, we appreciate that this was not your experience in all instances.

Our sincere apologies. It is our expectation that all staff treat patients with dignity and respect at all times.

If you would like to share your experiences further I am happy for you to contact me via email anne.mellor@uhnm.nhs.uk or alternatively call 01782 672214.

Many Thanks

Anne Mellor
Deputy Head of Midwifery