"Arrogant Neurologist"

About: Ayr Hospital / Neurology

(as the patient),

I attended an appointment with a neurologist at Ayr Hospital and I must register complaint regarding this person's entire attitude towards patients.

Firstly, this consultant appeared at reception, called my name and promptly retired to their room which was out of sight of reception and as I could only walk slowly I had to ask a nurse to identify the consulting room.

This consultant speaks rather quietly, resulting in me having to regularly say, “Pardon? ” This seemed to irritate this consultant, who was quite rude when suggesting that it was time I had a hearing aid.

At one point during the examination I had to roll my trousers above knee height and then climb on to the examination couch. By the time I was on the couch the trousers had slipped slightly so the consultant pushed them up again quite roughly, making clear their frustration that all was not going according to their requirements.

Although I had gone to be examined particularly down the left leg and foot following a severe case of shingles, this consultant was convinced that there is weakness throughout my left side, suggesting a possible stroke, hence the recommendation for scans of both head and leg. This consultant totally dismissed the information that I suffered a severely damaged shoulder some years ago which required the insertion, and later removal, of long metal pins which in my experience greatly weakened the shoulder.

I cannot say that I was not thoroughly examined by this consultant, who I am sure is eminently qualified in their field, but what I can say is that they must have been absent on the afternoon training course that dealt with ‘bedside manners’

My husband attended with me and we gave this consultant the respect we would give anyone in the medical profession. We managed, with difficulty, to say nothing about their manner and it is a great pity that this consultant does not extend their patients the same courtesy.

I hope my complaint might be registered and borne in mind should there be any similar comment made by other patients about this Doctor’s attitude.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Disappointed Deirdre,

You have started with one of my bug bears. At clinics, people calling a name (not always loudly enough, then going off before you have a chance to follow, and that is if you have heard them in the first place.

NHS Ayrshire and Arran values are Caring, Safe and Respectful but I am picking up from your post that you did not feel these were extended to your consultation and for that I am sincerely very sorry.

I would like to look into this further for you so we can address your points. If you are happy to contact me on 01563 826222 or Eunice.goodwin@aapct.scot.nhs.uk I will do so and I can feed back to you.

Once again, I am sorry for your distress and I hope your onward care reflects our values.

Kind regards,

  • Disappointed Deirdre thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too