"Very delayed appointment"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

I had an appointment in Orthapedics this morning, my appointment was meant to be 11am... I wasn't told when I booked in (as is the case at other hospitals I have attended) that the Consltant I was under was running late by 45 minutes... due to where I was sitting, I couldn't see the whiteboard with this information on either... I was called after 40 minutes, by a nurse, just to tell me, the Consultant was running late, and that there was one person in front of me, and then I would be called in.. The patient in front of me, was called in, and was pretty much in and out... There was a retired Consultant that had come back to see staff, stood in the corridor chatting to some nurses, and as soon as the patient in front of me had left the Consulting room, they took themself into the room I assume for a catchup... the door was closed behind them, and the retired consultant came out around 20 minutes later... never mind me just sitting there waiting for my appointment, that was already at this stage over an hour past the time it should have been... I then needed to be sent for an Xray and come back to see the Consultant with those results, when I got back, there was no-one around to book back in with, so I just had to hang around, until a nurse finally came along the corridor... the appointment, was a total waste of time as it turns out, as I have been left pretty much now to get on with my pain, as the Xray showed nothing that could be causing it, so all in all I was at the hospital for nearly 3 hours, and all for nothing anyway... I can't say I feel very happy.

The retired Consultant, surely could have waited for a catch up until the end of clinic... it isn't very professional, especially when a clinic is already overrunning... I just felt like I didn't matter at all.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Sir / Madam,

Many thanks indeed for sharing your concerns – I can only apologise sincerely for the unnecessary wait you had during your orthopaedic appointment this week. Given the circumstances you describe, I can completely understand why you might feel like you did not matter, and I’m sorry for all the opportunities we missed to prioritise your needs and keep you informed.

Sometimes waiting for care in busy departments is unavoidable – but the behaviour you witnessed in clinic this week is unacceptable. We are grateful that you’ve found the time to share your frustration with us because it allows us to do something about it.

I have passed on your review to Marion Dixon, one of our directors in the Surgery Business Unit who manages orthopaedics . Marion was keen to look into this immediately so that we can remind staff of the importance of putting patients first at all times. I have also shared with Mr Mike Reed – orthopaedic surgeon and clinical lead for Quality within the Trust. Mike agreed that the service you’d had was very poor and has raised the issue with all members of the orthopaedic team via email.

If you would like to get in touch with me directly annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk and share your details, it would help us be a little clearer about when your appointment was to ensure we follow up directly with the staff who were in clinic that day.

Many thanks for sharing this with us & apologies once again,


Annie Laverty – Director of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful