"An ongoing and dismal experience"

About: Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust

I received a totally spurious diagnosis of high blood pressure, after a couple of days I stopped taking the medication prescribed, this was subsequently confirmed by my GP and neurologist to have been the correct action.

Had I blindly followed the instructions from a staff member of this department I could have been taking a worthless pill for the rest of my life.

I was provided with a CPAP machine and a drip feed of additional parts which should clearly been provided in the first instance.

I pointed out to the person concerned that something was not right as I was waking in the early hours practically every morning.

The attitude was totally negative, I was then offered a follow up appointment in either 6 or 52 weeks, obviously I took the 52 week option as from the body language there was clearly no intention of taking any remedial action.

Months later I continue to get a far from satisfactory nights sleep.

Thinking I was being clever, I thought I would get a second opinion, both my GP and a web search pointed me in the direction, sadly, of a senior member of this department, I obtained the second opinion, another waste of time.

I certainly have no faith at all in this department, and I would have no hesitation in expressing this to others.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust

I'm so sorry to hear of your experiences and for the problems you have encountered.

From your feedback it is not clear which area you are referring to and we would really like to share your comments with the team concerned.

You may also like to have the opportunity to discuss the issues raised with a member of the team involved.

If so, please could you contact me on 023 92286000 Ext. 3473 so that I can obtain further details and forwarded to the appropriate department/team.

Kind regards.

Debbie

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful