"Unprofessional phone service"

About: Crosshouse Hospital / Respiratory medicine

(as the patient),

I have recently been to A&E, who recommended me to get an appointment with the respiratory department. However, I have been trying to call for 30 minutes, and the main switchboard is telling me that the phone is off the hook. I find this completely unacceptable and unprofessional, as it seems like this was done on purpose and the main switchboard know about it!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Magnetic355,

I am sorry you have had a problem contacting the department by phone. I don't know what number or what part of the service you were told to contact but I really do wish to look into this. I confess I am confused because as I understand it, it is unusual to be given a phone number to call. Although, as I don't know all the circumstances, it is difficult to be sure. Would you be able to contact me so I can help? I can be contacted on 01563 826222 or at eunice.goodwin@aapct.scot.nhs.uk.

Kind regards,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful